When All is Said and Done

fbFive things I will remember about my Facebook friends and the 2016 presidential election

Graciousness: I have FB friends who tolerated my postings even though they disagreed. They chose to let my stuff go by the wayside, rather than tell me they think I’m wrong.  I also have a couple of FB friends who publicly vowed to respect differing views.  I thank my gracious and tolerant friends.

Passion: I have FB friends who are passionate on all sides of the political rhetoric. Their postings exposed me to stuff I would otherwise not have seen.  I thank my passionate friends.

Pursuit of honest dialogue: I have a couple of FB friends who sincerely wanted engage in thoughtful dialogue.  Some shared other websites and resources.   Others were courageous enough to invite public discourse.  All good.  Many thanks to these friends who still like to talk to people who might have different opinions.

Shared values: I am so glad that I personally know people who share my political, and hence my spiritual, views.  Honestly, I sometimes think I am so different from most of the folks I know.  I am thankful that I have friends who sometimes think like me.  I am not alone.

Some surprises along the way:  I admit I assumed things about my friends, particularly when it came to living out one’s professed religious views.  I have been profoundly surprised, and sometimes saddened, about what seems to be fundamental disconnect.  I don’t know where this one will go.  I hope to get over it.

 

6 thoughts on “When All is Said and Done

  1. Hi Berna, very well put and I think I could express the same sentiments. I am extremely puzzled by the ability of those who profess to follow Jesus at being also able to endorse the likes of the next US President. I realize that the abortion issue has been hijacked by the Republican party, but even on that issue, Mr Trump is hardly steadfast. But for certain he displays very little of the character of a follower of Jesus despite his protestations otherwise. Very disturbing in some ways, but I continue to try to keep an open mind in understanding the motivations of such strange choices.

    • Thank you, David. The bottom line for me is his commandment is to “Love as I love you.” No boundaries, no conditions. I struggle with my own tendency to judge that which I believe is hypocrisy and blasphemy.

  2. Unfortunately faced with a presidential election we are being asked to make certain judgements about who should be allowed to have power to impact so many peoples’ lives. I agree we need to love unconditionally, and so we don’t reject those who act differently than we do. However, it doesn’t mean we don’t question why there is such a large number who would choose to endorse a man that so clearly does not represent the values of love and acceptance.

    • I accept, though reluctantly, that he is chosen for now. I wish I knew the “Big Picture.” 🙂 I don’t easily accept when people I know not just support his vision, but choose to ignore his outrageous arrogance and cruelty especially given their professed beliefs. After some thought, I decided to end my FB relationship with a couple of people who gladly spread his poison.

      • That’s a shame but on reflection I have come to the conclusion I can’t do much but I won’t just be quiet and pretend it’s all OK – I do hope that Trump continues to vacillate as he has always done and that many of his campaign ‘promises’ will come to nothing 😀

      • By “accept” I mean I know he is our president elect. But we must stay vigilant! I will not pretend it’s all OK. As an optimist, I continue to expect an implosion

Leave a Reply

