A Friend Across the Way

??????????????????????I hunker down every night
A cocoon intent on permanent solitude
to never fly again
to forget the sweet nectar of marigolds and spring birth

The last time I fluttered in hope of emergence
winter touched my fragility midair
and my wings shred
amid winds of betrayal and turmoil ricocheted

But then I heard her song
crooning over snow and frozen stream
wafting vague scents
of warm butternut squash soup and cinnamon yeast

So one morning I and Titus my black lab friend
set out on our last winter expedition
over a lone bridge
to a civilized pattern of houses and streets

And there she was walking towards me
hands in pockets and a smile wide as the new moon
on a black starry night
Hello, she said, you must be my neighbor

Photo taken at Parker Jordan Centennial Park in Englewood, Colorado, February 2015

Leave a Reply

